Recognizing Patriotism, Heroism, Scholastics

May 10, 2019


by David S. Morin

The Veterans of Foreign Wars Memorial Post 5791 and Auxiliary held its annual Loyalty Day/Scholastic Award Ceremony on May 3 at the VFW Hall. The ceremony began with the posting of the colors by the Alvirne High School JROTC.

The first award of the night was presented to Alvirne High School student Jack Gasdia, who was the first place winner in the Scholastic Awards Voice of Democracy. Joshua Grant of Hudson Memorial School placed first with his Patriot’s Pen Essay. In second place was Elise Homola from the Presentation of Mary Academy. Third place went to Emily Venturini of Hudson Memorial School.

Loyalty Day Press Awards were presented to the Hudson~Litchfield News and the Nashua Telegraph.

Lifesaving Awards were given to Hudson Police Officer Scott McDonald and Hudson Firefighters Thomas Sullivan, Craig Banner and Andrew Perkins. Perkins received a second lifesaving award for actions he took off duty earlier this year.

Loyalty Day Police, Fire and Town awards were presented to Detective Adam Lichinsky of the Hudson Police Department, Firefighter Sarah Delos Reyes of the Hudson Fire Department and Firefighter Craig Cartier of the Litchfield Fire Department. Cheryl Chartier, Operations Assistant, Hudson Public Works Department, received the Town Employee Loyalty Day Award.

Michael Stilphen of Hudson Memorial School was awarded the Teacher of the Year.

Loyalty Day Elementary School awards were presented to Deborah Darrigo, Hudson Hills Garrison School; and Susan Seabrook from the Litchfield Griffin Memorial School.

Middle School Loyalty Day awards were presented to Deborah Hughes of the Hudson Memorial School and Angela Dion from the Litchfield Middle School.

John Wilcox from Alvirne High School, and Carolyn Leite from Campbell High School, received the Loyalty Day High School Awards.

The Veterans of Foreign Wars Hudson Memorial Post 5791 and Auxiliary recognized two of their own members. Post 5791 Loyalty Award was presented to Post member Don Cisney. VFW Auxiliary member Sharon Castonguay Norman was presented the Auxiliary 5791 Loyalty Award.