NHS Passaconaway Chapter More than just an Honor Roll

November 27, 2015


by Len Lathrop

Since 1921, the National Honor Society has been the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students.  It highlights those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character.

As Principal Laurie Rothhaus stated in her closing comments, at the induction celebration on Thursday the 19th, the 16 Campbell NHS members have stepped into the society as productive members and joined the rank of adults.

The new inductees join the current 16 student members by signing the register of the Passaconaway chapter in front of family and friends assembled to honor the hard work and dedication to the highest academic status, school and community leadership, and service.

Today, it is estimated that more than one million students participate in NHS activities.  NHS chapters are found in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, many U.S. territories, and Canada.

The guest speaker was Michael O’Keefe, currently a chemistry teacher at the school, who has had a distinguished career in private industry before his venture in academia.  He spoke on the topic of “What is Next?”  Is it ensuring that you are the one who gets the job that you want, explaining that the harder you work it seems the luckier you get.

The newest members inducted into the Passaconaway Chapter of the National Honor Society are as follows:

Hannah Cote, Ariel Flaisher, Gabriele Hogan, Jamie Jutras, Jillian Kohm, Jessica Manning, Samantha Molinari, Samantha Parzych, Samantha Raymond, Maddison Reczko, Jakob Scopelites, D. J. Simoneau, Austin Snell, Cynthia Sonnesso, Carolyn Spaulding and Madison Taylor.