Annual Awards and Recognition Ceremony Held in Litchfield

February 2, 2018


by David S. Morin

Litchfield firefighters, town officials, and family members gathered on Jan. 27 at the Passaconaway Golf Course clubhouse for the department’s Annual Awards & Recognition Ceremony.

The event was kicked off by comments from Chairman of the Litchfield Board of Selectmen Brent Lemire and Fire Chief Frank Fraitzl.

Following a luncheon, the pinning of the newly promoted officers and the administration of the Oath of Office was given by Chairman Lemire to Captain Ed Glancy, Lieutenant Derek Earle, Lieutenant Chris Patten, Lieutenant Jason Hubbard, and Lieutenant Seth Miller.

Family members next pinned the badges onto the department’s newest firefighters, they included Firefighters Patrick Kelly, Danny Matthews, Craig Cartier, Cory Thomas, Jeff Baxley, Paul Kelly, Ernie Thomas, Jamie Grandmaison, Ryan DiFranza, Josh Anderson, Matt Tropiano, Rachael Lowney and Marcus Cartier. Chairman Lemire then gave the Oath of Office to each of the new firefighters.

Probationary Firefighters Ryan McLaughlin, James Somers, and Daniel Fontaines were inducted into the department.

Years of service pins were presented:

5 Years of Service: Chief Frank Fraitzl, Inspector Steve Dube and Lieutenant Jason Hubbard

10 Years of Service: Captain Ed Glancy and Firefighter Kevin Bourque

15 Years of Service Squad Leader Jeff Newell

30 Years of Service Deputy Chief Doug Nicoll

Certificates of Recognition of Achievements were presented to Firefighters Cory Thomas, Josh Anderson, and Patrick Kelly for completing the Firefighter I Level Certification. Recognized for completing the Firefighter II Level Certification were Firefighters Cody Lacombe and Ryan DiFranza.

Recognized for Emergency Medical achievements were Firefighters Craig Cartier, Cody Lacombe, Jamie Grandmaison, and Ernie Thomas for completing the Emergency Medical Technician course. Firefighter Rachael Lowney was recognized for completing Advanced Emergency Medical Technician. Two new paramedic level firefighters were also recognized; they were Firefighters Ryan DiFranza and Matt Tropiano.

Captain Ed Glancy and Lieutenant Seth Miller completed Fire Officer II with Deputy Chief Doug Nicoll, Lieutenant Seth Miller, and Firefighter Jason Ricard being certified as a State Fire Instructor.

Completing the ceremony were the Recognition Awards. Receiving a Unit Citation for their actions taken in the line of duty during a carbon monoxide incident with victims were Fire Chief Frank Fraitzl, Squad Leader Jeff Newell and Firefighters Paul Kelly and Jason Ricard.

Firefighters Craig Cartier and Ryan DiFranza received the Rookie of the Year Award with the Firefighter of the Year being presented to Lieutenant Seth Miller and Firefighter Cory Thomas. Emergency Medical Technician of the Year Award was presented to Firefighter Danny Matthews.

The Officer of the Year Awards went to Captain Ed Glancy and Lieutenant Seth Miller and Chiefs Leadership Awards were given to Deputy Chiefs Doug Nicoll, John Travis, and Squad Leader Jeff Newell.